VTAB 1008 help

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by AndroiDor14, May 25, 2012.

  1. AndroiDor14

    AndroiDor14 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    The menu, back and the legacy buttons isnt visable anymore, the menu and back moved to the screen but they supposed to be under the screen..
    how can i get them back there ?
     
  2. Roger2008

    Roger2008 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Western Illinois
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio HC VTAB1008
    That is the exact same question a lot of us have and if you call Vizio and complain they will tell you they can not help you because you choose to take the update. BTDT

    But that is not the worst problem because watching youtube videos with the standard Android browser is now full of problems when it used to work better that any Andriod device out there.

    Sent from my HC (2.0) VTAB1008 using Android Tablet
     
  3. AndroiDor14

    AndroiDor14 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    is there any way to get the older vertion back ?
     
  4. Roger2008

    Roger2008 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Western Illinois
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio HC VTAB1008
    I wish I could go back to an earlier version too because Vizio's update has made my VTAB 1008 useless for everything I used to use it for. I can't use the 1024x768 screen anymore because Vizio changed that to 1024x695 after taking a area 73 pixels high for the onscreen buttons.

    If I'm using the browser to play youtube videos I can't easily go full screen anymore because it has problems with the 1024x695 screen too. The only way to go near full screen now is to be sure to tap on the very corner of the video when you use to be able to tap right in the middle of the video to do the same thing.

    And not only that, and it might only be my Vizio Tablet but I can't use the Android Browser to watch any Youtube videos over 3 minutes long anymore because I end up with a white screen of death. See: Vizio's "White Screen of Death" on their Honeycomb VTAB1008

    But that is not the worst part. You will get nowhere at all if you try to complain to Vizio about their software because they will blame it on Google or Adobe instead of the people that are forcing the updates on us. If you don't believe me just call up Vizio yourself and you can find their number at:
    https://vizio.custhelp.com/app/ask
    NOTE: On the above URL you might not see the phone number with the Android browser so here it is: 877-698-4946

    And looking back, the problems with the Vizio updates really started after their first update when they removed the option to root their tablet.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2012
  5. AndroiDor14

    AndroiDor14 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    Download the dolphin browser, it might help you with your problem, it helped me.
     
  6. Roger2008

    Roger2008 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Western Illinois
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio HC VTAB1008
    The Dolphin Browser HD fixes a few of the problems but not all of them. A newer Flash Player also fixes a few of the problems but it also makes some of the problems worse when you use the Android Browser.

    FYI two months in a row I had to add more minutes to my cell phone because of all the time I spent on the phone with Vizio. I even have the phone number to the two level 4 techs and Vizio but that didn't help me at all because I have the exact same problems I had with my VTAB1008 that I had before I started to call Vizio up.

    Vizio could fix all the problems I 've complained about if they would just allow me to go back to GB but that is the last thing they will ever do.
     
  7. AndroiDor14

    AndroiDor14 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    I have one more question, how can i turn apps off? Like multitasking on the Iphone.
     
  8. kincer

    kincer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Pa
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB
    I know you're not gonna want to do this but I totally wiped mine out and it works great after I did a factory reset.
     
  9. AndroiDor14

    AndroiDor14 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    Isnt that dangerous? And how can I do that?
     
  10. IndyOne

    IndyOne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Greenwood, Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008
    If I understand you correctly, you mean the buttons moved from the bezel to the screen? If so, that was part of the Honeycomb upgrade. I'm glad they did, hated the bezel buttons, on the screen works much better IMHO.
     
  11. IndyOne

    IndyOne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Greenwood, Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008
    I've read many threads on different sites debating the pros and cons of using a task-killer app. The consensus seems to be Android does a sufficient job of managing apps in memory that you generally don't need to turn apps off unless they are mis-behaving.

    I used to use a task-killer, I no longer do. No memory problems here.
     
  12. Roger2008

    Roger2008 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Western Illinois
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio HC VTAB1008
  13. AndroiDor14

    AndroiDor14 Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    Yes thats what i ment, and the screen got smaller because of the update, any chance the will work it out the next update ? and do you know how to turn off apps after using them ? like IOS multitasking ?
     
  14. kincer

    kincer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Pa
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB
    You power it down and when you restart it you hold both the volume buttons and will bring up the reboot menu.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
an 1008 tablet screen offset
,
how do you get gps on a vizio vtab 1008
,
how to download to my vtab1008
,
problems with vtab1008
,
trouble shoot vtab1008
,

vizio vtab1008 screen problems

,
vtab 1008
,
vtab 1008 troubleshooting
,
vtab1008 buttons
,

vtab1008 menu button

,
white screen on a vtab1008