Coby 7015 - Newbie Experience and a few questions

watsonaka

May 14, 2011
Coby 7015 Experience and a few questions

I'm a relative newbie to the android OS. I have had very good luck with this tablet and thought I would share the procedure I used with other newbs and experts alike. I did the following.

Root & Market via Phase3d Method : Rooted and installed the google apps with phase3d's method on youtube. Search "MID7015 step by step". Phase3d clearly explains how to 1) download all the needed files, install Z4 Root, Terminal Emulator, ClockWorkMod, google apps, ADW Launcher EX, etc. When following his video I did initially have the "missing file error (file not found error)", but Phase3d's youtube video clearly explains what to do if that happens. Just follow his syntax to the letter. If you get the missing file error you must Click "Show More" under Phase3d's video description to follow the secondary method. I really like the ADW Launcher EX.
The only problem I encounter after rooting and installing via this method was I can not calibrate. The calibration app tries to open then just closes by itself without a FC dialog box. More on that later.(Later fixed per popeye1128's suggestion in post # 2. Re-installed calibrate.apk from the update.zip)

Graphics Fix : Installed the Graphics fix using CobyMID7015_GPU_Fix_Universal.zip as described in post 1 of http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...-mid7015-graphics-fix-angry-birds-others.html
To install the fix, I just powered down and booted to ClockWorkMod by holding down the Power Button and the Silver Back button. Held them till I booted to clockwork Then "install zip from sdcard" and select the GPU Zip you downloaded to your sdcard. After the GPU fix Angry Birds and Raging Thunder 2 played without issues. I did this right over the top of everything above with no adverse issues.