Need shopping advice - includes feature wish list

gggoodgggirl

Nov 24, 2010
Hi all,

I am trying to purchase a device for my boyfriend and I am just starting to explore the tablet option. In summary he is a radio fanatic and he loves to listen to the radio in his spare time.

I was thinking about trying to find a way to provide him with portable access to WiFi delivered XM radio (I have a primary subscription and just need to add on the $2.99/mo option to include the XM Radio Online). There are several ways to access XM Radio Online.

Browser Based access
  • Internet Connection: Broadband
  • Processor: Pentium III 1 GHz
  • Memory: Minimum 256 MB RAM, minimum 64 MB Video RAM
  • Operating System: Windows XP
  • Sound: Soundcard w/ speakers or headphones
  • Additional Software: Windows Media Player 10, Flash 7
  • Browser Compatibility: Internet Explorer 6+, Firefox 1.0+, Netscape 7+ (Opera not supported); cookies must be enabled
OR

Android Application
Unsure of specifics but I think they offer version 1.1 and 2.2

How can I be sure which tablet devices would be able to connect to XM using one of these options?

Other things I would want for this device would include:

• Portable Speaker Dock with both AC and DC power options
  • 5" Screen Size or smaller (I want this as portable as possible)
  • SD or Mini SD card
  • USB
  • Line Out
  • WiFi Access within any hotspot
I definitely do NOT want the device to be a phone.

I have been reading that the Archos 5 Android includes a regular FM radio receiver, which seems ideal because it could access standard radio when portable (walking or not connected to WiFi) and he could access XM radio when connected to WiFi. But I need to be sure that the Archos 5.0 is actually compatible with the player that XM offers.

Are there any other tablets that offer a built in FM radio tuner (NOT internet radio)? Has anyone used the Archos with the tuner?