Nook Color: Proper Wallpaper Sizing

thh204

Feb 2, 2011
Hey Rico, how did you get the app shortcuts at the bottom of your screen there? And how did you get rid of the books that usually line the bottom of the screen? I just got a nook and went through the rooting process and love it so far, but I am quite new to this.

rico2001

Dec 8, 2010
Hey Rico, how did you get the app shortcuts at the bottom of your screen there? And how did you get rid of the books that usually line the bottom of the screen? I just got a nook and went through the rooting process and love it so far, but I am quite new to this.

Welcome and always great to meet a new Nookcolor owner. Don't worry about being new, we were all new once. :)

Install a launcher, like Zeam or Launcher Pro, to override the stock one that came with your NC. You can find them on the android market. Once installed you will have a clean homescreen, where you can place shortcuts, and widgets. To do so, once you have a launcher installed, long press on your homescreen, a menu will pop up, pick "add item".

....lol let me stop, I forgot I already made a tutorial for this. :)

See here:
http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/nook/3636-zeam-launcher-nook-color.html
Skip very first part since we all have the market now and no need to sideload the zeam app to your Nookcolr.

romeogg

Feb 3, 2011
I followed the instructions below but no luck. Never got the landscape cropping mode, only the portrait cropping mode. My NC is pre-rooted v1.1.

Tip: Many people have been complaining about wallpaper sizing when using a launcher. What they are talking about is, when picking a wallpaper the NC will sometimes not properly size your image and your wallpaper will turn out over stretched and pixelated.

Here is a way to avoid this problem.

-Lay your NC on a flat surface.
-Go back to stock launcher (NC stock home).
-Press and hold anywhere on home screen to pull up a menu (change wallpaper or clean up this panel).
-Press “change wallpaper”.