Wyoming has a new Coby MID9742-8

Engeddi

Apr 2, 2013
Howdy to the AndroidTablets.net community.

I am a stay at home father raising a couple of kids while my wife is working hard each day. We moved to Wyoming just in the past year due to work and enjoy the smaller hometown type of communities we have found. I have had my adventures in the metro type cities in the past and . . . I am over it.

I am fairly new in the Android world. I bought a Coby MID7127 last year, had it rooted with google market, which of course changed to Google Play. This is where my connection ended with Google. At the end of the year, the battery in my 7127 started to buzz when I would try to charge it and it stopped booting up. I sent it in and two months later received a Coby MID9742-8 as a replacement, which I initially thought was really neat that they would do that. Unfortunately one week after they sent me this one I noticed that they started putting Google Play onto a couple of newer tablets right from the factory. Bummer.

I followed Traveller1701's information on rooting from his thread titled "READ FIRST: Development Index and Root Utility" and was able to root, create a system dump, install Super User, and install Clockworkmod Recovery. I tried to follow his instructions for installing Google Apps but have been unsuccessful. This is where I stand today. I have a tablet that feels like it is less than so-so and I cannot get the apps off of Google Play.

I have been contemplating getting a Google Nexus 7 or a Kindle Fire HD 7 but keep hoping that I can resurrect the Coby 9742.

I believe this is where my story ends and begins on within the community.

I have appreciated all the advice I have found here and look forward to reading more in the future. Maybe down the road I will be able to help out as I learn more about Android. Any input and advice regarding my Coby would be appreciated . . . meanwhile . . . I keep reading.

Enjoy the Day!

Traveller

Administrator
Staff member