Cell Standby

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7 Technical' started by pvella, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. pvella

    pvella Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    Read this on xda about a process consuming a lot of battery. Just wondering if this applies to our favourite tablet!!!

    [SCRIPT] Remove Cell Standby Service (Super Battery Life!) - xda-developers


    adb shell mv /system/app/Phone.apk /system/app/Phone.OLD
    adb shell mv /system/app/TelephonyProvider.apk /system/app/TelephonyProvider.OLD
    adb reboot
    This was specifically for the Nook. This might break the S7 GSM possibly.

    What do you think ?
     
  2. SikYou

    SikYou Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Detroit
    Tablet / Device:
    S7
    Look at your battery usage, if cell standby is there and using a large % of your battery then this might help. I have no cell service and therefore no cell standby ;)

    Sent from my GSBv1.5-ERIS
     
  3. pvella

    pvella Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    Mine always reports android system.

    Sent from my S7
     
  4. kevmueller

    kevmueller Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kansas City MO
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7 & Droid X
    Have you tried this yet?

    I was thinking about trying this. I keep my tablet in airplane mode, but this would be even better if I could just remove the phone. I have nettalk on my tablet and don't plan on ever adding a cell/data plan to my tablet. I was just going to see if anyone saw a change. I may give it a shoot tonight.
     
  5. kevmueller

    kevmueller Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kansas City MO
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7 & Droid X
    OK, so was I bored at lunch so I tried this through terminal emulator and can confirm it did NOT work for me. On the reboot I got a bunch of errors and then everything looked fine. Then I went in to take my tablet out of airplane mode and it would just try to do it, but would not. Then I tried to use the power button to turn the screen off and nothing. Then I went back in to terminal emulator and I could not get super user permissions. I went in to root explorer and renamed the files back to .apk and did a battery pull. On the reboot, no problems and everything works correctly again. It is a great idea, but I think there is too much tied to these for us to be able to do it.
     
  6. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    434
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
  7. l_n

    l_n Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Be careful renaming Phone.apk. There are programs that depend on some of its methods. You can safely rename TelephonyProvider.apk, but you'll get a FC loop and will have to reboot. After that's been done, you'll have to test your gsm data to make sure TelephonyProvider.apk wasn't serving your data connection.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cell standby on android

,
how do you turn off cell standby in android terminal
,
how to remove cell standby and cell idea application in sndroid
,
how to remove cell standby on huawel
,
script cell standby