Cold Boot ?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by scubaboyc, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. scubaboyc
    Offline

    scubaboyc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    One of my kids turned my A500 off yesterday after playing a game.
    It took 10 minutes to turn on from the cold boot (correct term? cold boot = powered on from off?).

    Is that normal? It seems like an awful long time.

    Thanks
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 13, 2012
  2. Spider
    Online

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    14,154
    Likes Received:
    1,695
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB
    That is definitely not normal. Hopefully, someone with an A500 will come along and help you figure out what's wrong.
  3. RobKort
    Offline

    RobKort Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500, Atrix 4G(2), SonyEricsson Xperia Play, Galaxy Nexus, AT&T Avail
    Does it happens all the time? Does the tab shows any signs of software problems?

    Sent From Rob's ATRIX.
  4. scubaboyc
    Offline

    scubaboyc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    I don't know if it happens all the time, this is the first time it was powered down since the update. I wasn't that long after the update. I thought it seemed like it was getting longer before that, but I wasn't sure. I read somewhere (and it was confirmed somewhere in the forum) that you shouldn't really ever turn them off. So, I stopped turning it off.
    I've been having this problem on both my A500 & Droid X2:
    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/acer-iconia-tab-a500-forum/31302-livemobile-com-market.html
    I
    found the Wrappio website and I think I stopped that, but it may be too early to tell.
    While surfing the web, either stock or Opera, it has a tendency to crash. I've been getting Weather and Media force closes sporadically, mostly since the 3.2.1 update. I didn't think much of the weather and media, I figure it may be a hiccup with the 3.2.1 since that's when they started. Since every time it happens, I send a bug report; I was going to wait and see if it still happens after the next one.
    The browser mostly does it consistently, regardless of which one I'm using.
    Any suggestions are appreciated.
    Thanx
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
  5. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    That is a long time for it to boot up. I know on a fresh install (after a Factory Data Reset) that my Asus Transformer boots up in 30-40 seconds. Once I get my apps installed (about 50) the boot time slows to about 60-90 seconds. I used to have 3 minute boot times but had a lot of apps (250+) I did not use so I cleaned them up. If you have a lot of widgets, especially ones on the home screens that need to access the internet (Weather, Movies, Facebook, Twitter) these can also slow down the boot times.

    I restart my tablet when it starts getting a little slow, maybe once a week on average. I would try rebooting it again and seeing if it happens again.
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Greg_E
    Offline

    Greg_E Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo Yoga 10, Pipo U1pro
    I turn mine off always, boot time should be a minute or less depending on the amount of garbage it has to load.
  7. Icebike
    Offline

    Icebike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Lots of force closing of apps and long boot time can indicate corrupted External MicroSD cards. Put your MicroSD card in a carrier, and pop it into your Windows 7 machine to see if its corrupted.
    Unfortunatly, it can also indicate a corrupted internal SD card, which pretty much takes a Factory Reset to fix.

    Boot time for me is 90 seconds.

    Mine almost never turns off.

    Turning it off simply means I won't use it, I'm not going to wait 90 seconds to check the headlines, or the weather,
    or even to look up movie times, tv schedules, or waste some time playing a quick game.
    People can't message me, I can't get sound notifications of emails. In short turning off a tablet pretty much negates
    everything I want a tablet for.

    There is ZERO advantage to turning off an Android device (or any linux based machine), because its not Windows.

    (and even Windows isn't windows anymore, My Win7 machine runs 24/7, getting a reboot only when Microsoft
    insists, sometimes its gone months without a reboot).
    • Like Like x 2
  8. scubaboyc
    Offline

    scubaboyc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    Other than the update, I haven't turned it off in forever. I guess when I told the 9 year old to end his game & get off, he heard turn it off ;)
    So, if it's corrupted, can it be fixed? Does that mean the data will be lost? I'm not to worried about the internal, that's all on the servers/ market. But I've got a bunch of pics & apps on the external. The apps are backups of non-market (SG1 soundboard, Kungfu Panda Puzzle, Cylon Bobble Head to name a few). They were all in the market at one time, but no longer. I'm dont want to loose them.

    Thanks
  9. Icebike
    Offline

    Icebike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Well if most of your stuff in on the External MicroSD you are probably in good shape.

    Any of those .apks that you have backed up which were pulled from the market, were pulled for a reason. You may want to think twice about reinstalling them.

    Power down the tablet.
    Pull the External SD card, stick it in a MicroSD to USB converter, such as one of these: Amazon.com: BlueProton USB 2.0 MicroSD / TransFlash Card Reader Writer: Electronics

    Plug that into your computer (Win7 preferably), and it will diagnose any problems and offer to fix them.
    While in your computer, make a copy of the card. No magic here, just drag entire directories off the card onto your hard drive.

    With the microsd still out, see if your tablet will boot.

    If, so, shut down, and replace the microsd back into the tab and see how it works.

    If not,...
    You might want to get a cheap 2gig microSD if you want to proceed to see if you can side load
    a complete OS re-install, you should have HD87 give you some pointers. He's more experienced on the rom loading side
    of things. There are web sites (XDA) where you can download all versions of the A500 software and side load it with
    just the use of a small spare MicroSD card.
  10. Greg_E
    Offline

    Greg_E Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo Yoga 10, Pipo U1pro
    I don't use mine everyday so it makes sense to turn it off and save the battery charge cycles, last week I was so busy I only turned it on once to read through some pages on a technical manual.

    On the XDA forums are those official versions of the firmware or are they custom versions? I'd like to have a few versions stored in case I ever have an issue.
  11. scubaboyc
    Offline

    scubaboyc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    So, I did alittle house cleaning. I got rid of Goggle Currents because I used it only once and like Pulse alot better. It amazingly had 1GB of data. After that, boot time went from 10min to 2m15s.
    @Icebike: I think I still pull the SD & give it a once over. I'm assuming I would only have to side load the OS if a factory reset didn't work, right? Do you know whether or not one would still get ICS if the OS was side loaded, standard image? I'm keeping the idea in my back pocket (media keeps crashing).
    You really think I should chuck my formerly Market apps? (I agree the Super Mario Bros puzzle can go). I got the SG1 soundboard from my wife and it was the second app she put on her Droid over 2 years ago. I figured some of these just left the Market due to lack of support or popularity. Do they really only pull apps if they "misbehave"? (If you can't tell, I love SG1)

    Thanks everyone for the help.
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2012
  12. Icebike
    Offline

    Icebike Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    63
    No, if they violate someone's copyright they will pull them as well.
    But by far the most often reason for removal has been spyware build into the apps. My theory is, if you don't use it, toss it. Or keep the .apk just in case you want it back, but don't install it.

    Just yank the MicroSD and see if it boots up properly and quickly.
    Then you can plan what your next move is.
    • Like Like x 2
  13. scubaboyc
    Offline

    scubaboyc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    Roughly the same amount of time (2m) w/o the SD card in.
    That isn't a big deal compared to 60-90, is it?
    I'm still going to check the SD card; and take your advice and do a purge.

    Thanks
  14. Greg_E
    Offline

    Greg_E Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo Yoga 10, Pipo U1pro
    I just timed mine which is pretty bare in the app department and it was 65 seconds from the time the light frist comes on the power switch to the lock screen, no real time after entering lock code to desktop. After the latest update it was really fast for a couple of boots, then some app updates and it went back to about a minute.
  15. scubaboyc
    Offline

    scubaboyc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    Update:
    For giggles, I turned it off, put the SD card back in and turned it on. 3m05s. Also, all the pics & vids were gone off the card. The docs & music were still there. Docs, pics & vids were intact on the internal, but the music I made available offline from Google Music is gone. Also, tapatalkat_download & the tapjoy folders are back. I have no idea what these are or what they're related to - but the weirdest crap is in them, so I delete them whenever they show up.
    After the kids go to bed, I'm finding the SD card thingy and dissecting this puppy. Hopefully, all my bio-geek stuff laying around the house will do the job ;)

    After I sanitize, if I stabilize at 2m, is that good or should I bust out the microscopy set and focus in on a factory reset?

    Thanks everyone.
  16. Greg_E
    Offline

    Greg_E Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo Yoga 10, Pipo U1pro
    It would be nice to know which apps are slowing it down. I have a theory but it is probably wrong. theory is that all the various apps that try to sync with things on the web like email, social networking, etc take time to sync before booting will complete. Since I have almost nothing that tries to sync this kind of makes sense but again I could be very much wrong.
  17. scubaboyc
    Offline

    scubaboyc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    Can I just say that so far, only 14 days into it, this year sucks for me & electronics. My laptop thinks blue is my favorite color. I got a mp3 player for Christmas that bricked itself by the 3rd, and now this. I'm wondering if I should find that desktop/ server that has the only known copy of my "permanent record" and stand next to it ;)

    I did notice something fishy, I can see the music on the external, but can't play it through any of the media players on the tablet, from the tablet. I can use Google Music to play a track via while viewing in ES File Explorer.

    I might not have been clear. When I said "Media" is crashing/ force closing. The notification says "process.android.media.something". So I'm thinking it's either the external is bad and the long boot is the A500 trying to find the stuff on it or there's actually something wrong with the A500. Isn't the "process...." the "part" scans everything and then let's you see it on the A500?

    Back to surgery ;)

    Greg_E, I like your theory. I'm working on a protocol to test it.
  18. scubaboyc
    Offline

    scubaboyc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    Ok, so took out the SD and had a 2m boot. Reformatted the card to both NTFS & FAT32, both 2m boot. Put the SD card from my mp3 player in, 95s boot. Basically, I'm looking at between roughly 90 & 120 second boot time.

    However besides the "Media" crash, I'm now getting a similar notification for Maps whenever I try to use it or the Navigator.
    Also, the A500 does not see anything on any of the the cards. No music, pics or vids. I can see and access the external from my file manager though. The only app that see pics on the external is Quickpic.
    I'm assuming it's time for a factory reset.
    I just go into setting and that's it correct?
    I live in fear of doing this, but I guess I have no option.
    I can re-download anything I've bought from the Market w/o paying again, right?
    Thanks for the help.
  19. Spider
    Online

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    14,154
    Likes Received:
    1,695
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB
    Once you download it, you own it. As I found out though, you have to download it from the same site. Duh.:cool:
  20. scubaboyc
    Offline

    scubaboyc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    So, I've been playing with for a couple of hours - waiting for my wife to get back, something tells me to not try a factory reset while watching 5 kids.
    It's definately an issue with my A500. I've had no force closing or anything until I plugged a USB drive into it. There must be something wrong w/ whatever scans for media on external storage.
    I hope the reset fixes this.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

androidcold boot

,
how long does transformer cold boot take
,

how to cold boot android

,

how to cold boot samsung tab 3

,
how to cold reboot android