Netfix 1, android 0

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7 Technical' started by NevadaDave, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. NevadaDave

    NevadaDave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Nevada
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7, Ainol Novo Flame
    Well, my Netflix on S7 (Brazilian 2.2 ROM) experience was short-lived! I fired up this morning & got a "New version of application is found, you must upgrade to be able to use application" error. The two choices are "OK" and "Cancel". "Cancel" does what it implies, but if you select "OK", you get sent to the market app, and then another error message that says, "Not found. The requested item cannot be found"
    So, it looks as if Netflix has added something that makes sure that you can't run anything other then the "official" version of their apk, which can't even be loaded to an S7 from the market because it's not an approved platform.
    Has this happened to anyone else? Did anyone find a workaround?
     
  2. NevadaDave

    NevadaDave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Nevada
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7, Ainol Novo Flame
  3. zealouz

    zealouz Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tab | HTC Thunderbolt
    A no go on my HTC Thunderbolt. APK Installs fine and looks like it is going to work then back to the selection screen. I got a movie to briefly begin to play and I mean briefly, then back to selection screen. Installs on my Iconia tab but cannot play movie. Message says something like 'device is not supported at this time.' That message does not appear on my thunderbolt though. It appeared to me that other functions will work properly (ex: Modifying cue). Oh...i did have a drm icon in my info bar on my Thunderbolt. I believe it stated that I lacked the DRM license.

    Neither of my devices are rooted.
     
  4. pbrauer

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
    I am getting a new error, I installed the version that doesn't do a device check, but now i am getting a DRM Error message and it turns off. I actually had Netflix on the T-Bolt for about 4 days before this new version screwed up things....
     
  5. wwhite

    wwhite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    Tablet / Device:
    IDEOS S7
    I'm running the V100R001C68B111(Brazil Commex) ROM with the com.netflix.mediaclient-2.apk from http://www.mediafire.com/?4xwncz7doz475tj and I'm watching Picture Perfect starring Jennifer Aniston as I post this reply. I'm impressed with the picture quality I'm getting over wifi too.
     

Share This Page