SYNET7LP concerns/feedback

Discussion in 'Sylvania Tablets' started by tae254, Dec 20, 2010.

  1. john_tartar

    john_tartar Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania
    I partially opened mine up to look at the battery.
    I could not get it all the way open because one of the flat flex cables seemed to be glued to the outer housing.

    However, inside it seems that there are two separate batteries, taped together, presumably wired in series.
    Each is most likely a 3.6volt, resulting in a total 7.2 volts for the tablet.

    So if a there was a popular cell phone, or digital camera, or similar device, that was relatively thin, rated at 3.6 or 3.7 volts and somewhere around 1500-2000mAh
    that would be great and probably work.

    The replacement process would be non-trivial, however.
     
  2. lan_baba

    lan_baba Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    We need to press hard on Sylvania or DG to give us a working automatic update for 2.20. It is already too long.
     
  3. chuck3565

    chuck3565 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania Tablet
    I couldn't find a battery for it either so i bought a Sylvania tablet with a broken screen and transplanted the battery. The battery is very thin, thinner than the Eken M001 battery and there is no room for a thicker battery, so replacements will be hard to come by. Soldering the battery in isn't a job for an inexperienced solderer. (The solder pads are very small with other copper traces very close to the pads.) Also, when prying off the back, there is a ribbon cable pressing against the seam at one point. So the prying tool can't be pressed into the seam too far without damaging the cable. Once the battery was replaced, I can browse for 2+ hours between charges. Chuck
     
  4. chuck3565

    chuck3565 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania Tablet
    Found an app. that will solve this problem. It is called Button Savior. If your tablet is rooted, it works great. Chuck
     
  5. lorenii

    lorenii Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Ok, I am on my second set of these, kind of. I started out with two of the EX7 and after sending them back twice with various issues (wifi drop, lockup, boot freeze, not able to update, etc...) they upgraded me with two brand new (used) NET7's. I get them and they are nice. Auto rotate, lock screen, quicker boot loading and I love one of them. The other one is a plastic coated POS. Wifi drop, battery discharge from 90% (all that I can get it to charge to) to auto shutdown in 24-25 minutes running NOTHING but the battery status screen and now as I am typing this, it is switching back and forth from Batt Status "charging" to "full" and Batt Level from "charging" to 100% about every second or so. When I unplug it, the battery level drops to 85-86% and it starts the countdown to black. Part of me wants to leave it plugged in and see if it ever fully charges and yet my primal brain tells me that it REALLY doesn't want to wake up at 3am with my bedroom on fire.....
     
  6. chuck3565

    chuck3565 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania Tablet
    That sounds like the battery is defective. The symptoms are the same as one of my tablets had. Replacing the battery repaired it. Chuck
     
  7. dacft0

    dacft0 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania 7" Android Tablet SYNET7LP
    Just purchased my Sylvania 7" Android Tablet model SYNET7LP for $99 from Big Lots. It came preloaded with Android 2.2 and has an accelerometer that works. When I first booted (after charging), I noticed it was very sluggish at first but seemed to improve some (but not much) after 10 minutes of being on. Programs stalled several times and had to reset twice. Once it was running better I installed Opera and that kind of improved my web experience (by load times only). However when I went to check my memory status I noticed that my SD card was recognized and reported 2GB but the devices internal storage reported 0.00B when it should have reported something around 2GB. I thought maybe a glitch a reset could take care of, but that didn't work. In fact after I reset the device lost all my settings and programs I installed. I checked the memory status again and internal still reports 0.00B. After redoing all my settings and installing Opera again I just turned the unit off with the power button and slide motion, and again after turning it back on all my settings and installed programs were gone. :-(

    Has any one else had this issue? Is there a fix or a thread somewhere that has some answers? I've searched and found many more issues with the SYNET7LP and similar tablets but not the missing internal storage problem. Any info would be a great help. Thanks in advance.

    Joe
     
  8. cfrockit

    cfrockit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    190
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania SYNET7LP
    Congratulations on your purchase. This tablet has a few issues but has potential. Yes the issue has been reported multiple times. Here's a couple of the related memory threads with more details on "factory reset".

    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/sylvania-tablets/15888-0-internal-memory.html#post93968

    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/sylvania-tablets/10399-how-do-i-format-internal-memory.html
     
  9. Markel

    Markel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania SYNET7LP
    I picked up a SYNET7LP from 1saleaday.com for $70 in August and have really enjoyed it. However, tonight as I was using it it froze up. After forcing a power down (holding the power button until it shut down), when it restarted (after a looooong powerup time) it came up as if it was first being powered on (with the screen calibration), and after setting it up (setting up my home network, time zone, etc.) and powering off, on the next power up it was back to the screen calibration (and none of my settings persisting). So something has really failed. I sent an email to dgsupport@digitalgadgets.com to see what they will do for me.
     
  10. candymann0

    candymann0 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    girard...ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    android devices
    Hello I am intrested in finding information in getting a replacement digitizer for my sylvania tablet...dg doesn't even seen to care to want to talk to me about it....

    Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide using Android Tablet Forum
     
  11. mvancil

    mvancil Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Tablet / Device:
    SYNET7LP
    Mine has the same problem from time to time, which is what prompted me to post this...

    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/sylvania-tablets/23792-imaging-question.html

    I've pretty much worked around the issue.
     
  12. lorenii

    lorenii Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    102
    There are NO parts available for the Sylvania tabs, not even from the mfg. If your screen is usable (not broken/cracked) you can use a usb mouse. If it is shattered, its junk. You can sell the parts on here (charger, motherboard, wifi, etc...) or as a whole unit, but don't expect to get your $100 back.
     
  13. Markel

    Markel Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Tablet / Device:
    Sylvania SYNET7LP
    Well, after going through Settings / Privacy / Factory Data Reset, my SYNET7LP is now working again. However, all the apps I had installed are gone. Unfortunately, a number of those got installed when I had a working Market, which is no longer working.
     
  14. lorenii

    lorenii Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Unfortunately that is the way it is.... UPDATE your tablet first before you go thru the trouble of reloading your apps and going thru the motions of getting a working Market. The update will do the same damn thing.
     
  15. mvancil

    mvancil Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Tablet / Device:
    SYNET7LP
    Check out the Amazon App Store....it's just as good, maybe even a bit better.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to change the battery from sylvania tablet
,

anything

,

hard reset sylvania synet7lp

,
sylvania tablet hard reset
,
synet7lp replacement battery
,

why does my whatsapp status keep changing