Bricked, I guess

Bobw

Jan 26, 2012
Have a ViewSonic G Tablet that had been rooted to the Vegan-Tab Edition Rom. Worked fine.

Then yours truly got the idea he wanted HoneyComb 3.1 back on, so he went to "droidpirate" and purchased the mini sd to do just so. NOPE!!

Now, all I get when I power on is :"Magic Value Missmatch"
"Unrecognized root device"

Is the Sonic salvagable, does anyone know.

Any help appreciated, as I am a novice, and now know I had no business starting this to begin with.

Bob

mikespe

May 18, 2011
Have a ViewSonic G Tablet that had been rooted to the Vegan-Tab Edition Rom. Worked fine.

Then yours truly got the idea he wanted HoneyComb 3.1 back on, so he went to "droidpirate" and purchased the mini sd to do just so. NOPE!!

Now, all I get when I power on is :"Magic Value Missmatch"
"Unrecognized root device"

Is the Sonic salvagable, does anyone know.

Any help appreciated, as I am a novice, and now know I had no business starting this to begin with.

Bob

So you bought an SD card got the gTab & installed it and THEN had this problem? Take it out & try to reboot...if not are you rooted? If yes can you get into recovery (ClockworkMod preferably) If YES then you will need to format your SD card to FAT32 (You WILL lose any data saved on that card!!!) If not rooted or can't get into CWM do you have a microSD card adapter so you can access it from your computer? If yes use that & your computer to format the SD card to FAT32...

If NONE of this works then head on over to Slatedroid.com...the gTablet is one of their specialties and one of the members will guide you to a fix. I've had a gTab for almost a year not & just updated to an Acer A500. The gTab is almost UNBRICKABLE!!! You might have to learn a few new "hacking" tricks so be prepared for a learning curve.

Bobw

Jan 26, 2012
I bought the G Tablet and it was rooted to the Vegan-Tab Edition Rom. Worked fine, so I then decided I wanted Honeycomb 3.1 on the G Tab instead.