Logiech K400r wireless keyboard and eForCity A to Micro B Female / Male adaptor

sambena

Dec 30, 2012
This is a review of both the Logitech K400r wireless keyboard with touchpad and a A to B usb connector sold by eforcity.

First lets talk about the keyboard. Out of the box the keyboard works great. I just plugged in it and the tablet recognized it with only one minor fuss. when plugging in the receiver dongle you must plug the A to B converter in first then plug in the dongle.

Some things that don't work on the keyboard are the windows key. this is due to the fact that the standard android key layout doesn't have the windows key bound to anything. I suppose this can be fixed by editing the qwerty.kl or the generic.kl in system/user/keylayout I suppose you would also have to mess with the qwerty.kcm or generic.kcm in the keychars folder. Im not an expert in this at all but I plan on figuring out a way to bind that key.

standard keys like vol up and down work same with the home key. the touchpad has a few quirks. This is mainly due to the fact that android wasn't designed for mice. so things like highlighting text to copy works as if you are using a touch screen. this is where the biggest nuance lies. sometimes the touchpad works like a touchpad and sometimes it works like a touch screen. there isnt any real conformity to any standard.

the touchpad has multi touch but you can't pinch to zoom or do any multi touch activities. You can however scroll with two fingers. yay!

overall the keyboard works great. I would give it a 4 out of 5 only because of the software issues. :cool:

now on to my review of the mico usb to usb converter.