TABLET vs. LAPTOP - What do you think???

JimBerlin

Oct 12, 2011
I am new to Tablets and haven't purchased one yet. But I am seriously looking at an Acer ICONIA A500-10S32 - Android 3.1 (Honeycomb). I presently have a MacBook that I love but also think I might not need. Can a good quality Android Tablet replace a MacBook? The primary use on my MacBook is to access the internet via WiFi, write, create docs, create PP (Keynotes), store all my files and pictures and sometimes edit small movies. What is your experience? If I get a good Tablet do I need my MacBook?:confused: I'm thinking of the Acer because of the USB connection and GPS.

Thanks for your help!

Jimmarn

Oct 12, 2011
I got a Windows convertible, with win7 and a wacom digitizer, I do indeed love it, but I will also buy a tablet with Android Honeycomb because of the portability, my 12,1 win7 tab is ofc portable. But you get what I mean, an Android or iPad has a very quick and well made OS for portability, and I'd like to have a tablet I just can pull up and start drawing, or browse the web fairly quick. But I doubt it will replace my Win7 convertible tab.

I'm really really looking into buying the Lenovo Thinkpad tablet. With N-Trig digitizer. It looks powerfull and good. I'd just wish it was Wacom....

pbrauer

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 24, 2010
I have not taken my laptop off its dock in my office in 6 months

gurgle

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 6, 2010
I have to look at from both a corporate and personal perspective. These in my situation break down into three buckets; cost, portability and input/output.
From a cost perspective, I have to say it is a wash if you only focus on the upper tier tablets, ie no Flytouch, Coby, etc. The cost for a tablet and baseline corporate level netbook/notebook is about $600USD.
From portability perspective, a tablet has a notebook beat hands down.