just got a acer a500 tab. system update date wont install

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by shawnwade, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. shawnwade

    shawnwade Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    keystone,Ia
    Tablet / Device:
    acer a500
    im a total noob to android tablets. when i try to do the system update the install fails. i get thev"invalid update message". ive heard of people doing a factory reset, but i dont know to do the factory reset. and if i reset, then i have to redownload all my apps, right?
     
  2. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Just clear the cache by holding in the power button and the volume up key when you start your tablet. Factory reset is the hole on the bottom left hand side of the A500. You can try that.

    Do ypu have a valid account with gmail?
     
  3. StoneKy

    StoneKy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia a500
    Hey Douvie, Factory Reset isn't the hole on the bottom but just Reset.

    ACER Iconia Tab A500 hard reset - PDA Smartphone PNA hard reset soft reset
     
  4. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Yeah you're probably right. However my daughter's had the same problem at one stage and I hit the reset hole on the bottom right. Thst change tne message from "invalid" to "download failed". Did another reboot and no problem.
     
  5. StoneKy

    StoneKy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia a500
    This is something that I've wondered about and I think I know the answer but gonna ask. If you do a FACTORY RESET then I know it goes back to like it was when purchased but the APPS are mine and still will show in the Market, correct?? Do they auto redownload or ??

    I know you don't have to with Reset.
     
  6. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Yes the apps show in the market. It is tied to your account.
    And no you have to download them.

    And at least we agree. He doesn't have to do a reset. It will eventually work.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
acer a500 update failed
,

acer a500 wont update

,
acer iconia a500 wont update
,
acer iconia tab a500 will not update
,
acer tablet wont update
,

my acer a500 wont update

,
my acer tablet wont update
,
why wont my acer a500 update