[ROM] Huawei Ideos S7 Slim Official Firmware

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7 Slim Technical' started by tri_zet, May 6, 2011.

  1. femmyade2001

    femmyade2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    does anyone have a link to the official ROM? I tried rooting my device and the touchscreen is unresponsive now. I think i need a reflash.
     
  2. aksoutherland

    aksoutherland Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    NULL
    I was able to resolve both the market issue and the gmail issue by performing a factory reset. I have however found out that if install any launcher at all, when I reboot th touchscreen doesnt work. To be fix i had to use adb to uninstall the extra launchers. I have tried with several launchers and all of them give the same results. I called huawei about it and the tech on the phone told me they dont support 3rd party software, but then again, the tech on the phone was a douche too... so i called back and got someone that would listen and is supposedly going to escalate the issue to engineering.
    So with that being said, has anyone been able to install any launcher and have a functional tablet after a reboot?
     
  3. femmyade2001

    femmyade2001 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    i keep running into the same issue with adw and zeam. the default launcher is a pain in the a$$ especially since it is only landscape. responsiveness is also an issue. i hope we get a resolution soon.

    Sent from my IDEOS S7 Slim using Android Tablet Forum
     
  4. joelong

    joelong Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I have just encountered the same problem. I don't know how to do a factory reset with an unresponsive touch screen. What is "adb," where do you get it, and how do you use it?
     
  5. aksoutherland

    aksoutherland Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    NULL
    You can get adb from here Android SDK | Android Developers
    Here is a link to a brief rundown on what commands you can run: Android Debug Bridge | Android Developers

    Here are the commands that I used:
    adb devices - will show you that your device is connected. USB debugging mode must be turned on.
    adb shell
    cd /data/app
    ls
    rm *Launcher*.apk - When you run ls, you will see a list of files in the folder. You are looking for the word Launcher. When you have the name of the app, should be something like this: com.fede.Launcher-1.apk is you are using Launcher Pro. The name will be different for each launcher you have installed.
    Replace *Launcher*.apk with the actual name of the file.
    Then run the next couple of commands:
    exit
    adb reboot

    This will reboot the tablet and you should be all functional. If you have multiple Launchers installed you will have to remove all of them from the folder listed above.

    Let me know if you have any questions.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. sungod88

    sungod88 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NULL
    successfully got my BB s7 slim flashed to south africa version. Now that I have the black rubber removed I'm gonna test my simcard if it works then the s7 slim is WIN
     
  7. tri_zet

    tri_zet Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7
    would like to know the result. if all the hardware is there, then you are just lucky get bonus from huawei.
     
  8. sungod88

    sungod88 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NULL
    How do I get my s7 to see my sim card its in but I dont know how to connect it
     
  9. moshe5368

    moshe5368 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Fulton,MS
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7, Nook color
    You will need to set up an APN file in the phone settings just as you would for the regular S7. Check the FAQ section for the S7 under phones. There is a very good tutorial on this. Just remember the slim was not sold as a phone but a wifi device only.

    Sent from my NookColor using Android Tablet Forum
     
  10. sungod88

    sungod88 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NULL
    Thank you mosh. I did try these settings but for some reason when I back out they dont save? what did I do wrong I tried 6 times and it never saves my APN settings
     
  11. tri_zet

    tri_zet Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7
    did you get any GSM signal?

    AFAIK APN setting (preset or user saved) will appears if the system get "match cell/network ID number".

    if you didn't get any GSM signal, system doesnt know what cell ID you are using, thus will not show preset or saved APN settings.

    try to get GSM signal first, try select netwotk/search manually or try to change band GSM/WCDMA.

    if searching/manually select network but you can not find any GSM network, perhaps something missing/not connected on your hardware.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2011
  12. FRUMHARLEM

    FRUMHARLEM Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7 Slim
    I just bought a Huawei Ideos S7 tonight @ Best B. The cellular rep spent 25 minutes trying to stuff my SIM card in the slot, as he did it before with the last version of the S7. The black foam prevented this. However, reading here I see that it can be cut and the South African Firmware has the dialer program.
    Has anyone had success as of yet?
    I cannot find the Firmware on the Huawei Support site.
    The 14 day return clock is ticking. If I can't get the SIM to work, I am going to exchange for the Samsung Tab 7 (wi-fi only). It is only $50 more ($349).
     
  13. sungod88

    sungod88 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NULL
    Ok I don't think the hardware is connected. I tried to search for the signal but it wouldn't pick up my simcard. Also I noticed the sim cards dont sit in the slot firmly so I think huawei muffed up the design and then chose to scrap it all. It's still a great tablet but I would love to use my 3g. Maybe someone can prove me wrong hopefully and find out if its possible to make this work
     
  14. fisherman

    fisherman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
  15. yzambrano

    yzambrano Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    peru
    Tablet / Device:
    ideos s7 slim
    Did you receive any private msg if someone can get sucess about SIM?


    Enviado desde mi IDEOS S7 Slim usando Android Tablet Forum
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
huawei ideos s7 slim firmware
,
huawei ideos s7 slim firmware update
,
huawei ideos s7 slim upgrade
,
huawei ideos s7 update
,
huawei s7 slim firmware upgrade
,
huawei s7 slim tablet software update
,
ideos s7 slim
,
ideos s7 slim firmware
,

ideos s7 slim firmware upgrade

,

ideos s7 slim update