Why Is There Not A Root for 3.2 ? ? ?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by tuthpick, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. tuthpick

    tuthpick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Sheridan, CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Now that we have the update all over we need a rooter for 3.2.

    This is to all the great guys who help us please get one to work.

    I praise all who help us keep going.

    Thanks
     
  2. wicced247

    wicced247 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    brooklyn
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kryosmid7024
    there is a method to root HC 3.2....

    copied my post from here>>> http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/acer-iconia-tab-a500-forum/22966-new-a500-3-1-needs-rooted.html which has reports of other methods.... NOTE this method uses ADB

    This is how i got to root my Acer A100 running Anroid 3.2 Honeycomb>>

    first download SU.zip (you can also download directly into your tablet by clicking the link) from here > su.zip

    extract the SU file from ZIP download to your Tablet's root directory>>> /mnt/sdcard/
    ****please note SDCARD means internal memory and not the external MicroSD

    once SU file is placed in your Tablet's root directory, the rest is left to Android ADB SHELL.
    If you dont have Android ADB installed on your computer, you can get it from here:

    for Ubuntu/Linux use this link > [GUIDE] Lazyman's installation guide to ADB on Ubuntu 10.10 - Now with Ubuntu 11.04 ! - xda-developers
    for Windows use this link > How to Set Up ADB on Windows 7, Vista & XP for Android Phones

    after getting ADB SHELL up and running on your computer, USB your tablet to your computer and enter USB Debugging mode on the tablet. Once tablet is connected an in USB Debugging mode, follow steps below:

    Steps using Ubuntu/LINUX:
    open TERMINAL then copy and paste lines 1-3 individually
    1. adb shell /system/bin/cmdclient ec_micswitch '\`mount -o remount,rw /system\`'
    2. adb shell /system/bin/cmdclient ec_micswitch '\`cat /mnt/sdcard/su >/system/xbin/su\`'
    3. adb shell /system/bin/cmdclient ec_micswitch '\`chmod 6755 /system/xbin/su\`'

    Steps using WINDOWS:
    open CMD then copy and paste lines 1-3 individually
    1. adb shell /system/bin/cmdclient ec_micswitch '`mount -o remount,rw /system`'
    2. adb shell /system/bin/cmdclient ec_micswitch '`cat /mnt/sdcard/su >/system/xbin/su`'
    3. adb shell /system/bin/cmdclient ec_micswitch '`chmod 6755 /system/xbin/su`'

    Once finished, install SuperUser from android market and Busybox Installer to confirm ROOT on tablet. If Busybox Installer fails apply lines 1-3 again.
     
  3. danielg5

    danielg5 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Virginia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tab a500
    Hello wicced247,

    I see that you are running this on an A100, not the A500. Do I understand correctly that the updates were different for the two tablets. Does the A100 with HC 3.2 have the same "locked bootloader" as the A500. Does ADB SHELL allow the user to circumvent the locked bootloader?

    Has anyone tried this on an A500 running HC 3.2?

    Is this process reversible? Will it allow future OTA updates after it has been done?

    Thanks.
     
  4. wicced247

    wicced247 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    brooklyn
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kryosmid7024
    from what i have been reading the A100 16gb and the A500 runs the same hardware and software combination with just a few differences to screen size drivers... in other post i have read on other websites and XDA forms people have rooted their A500 after doing the update 3.2 and have also used mine or other methods to archive root access successfully...

    as for OTA updates after being rooted... i see why not once you dont download a different Kernel and even if u did you can still re-install the stock Kernel back into your device to receive the OTA update.

    im also waiting for the Official ISC update to come out to update
     
  5. atomilluminati

    atomilluminati Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer a500 iconia tab


    i copy 2 and when i enter it .... it says... can not locate directory ..... i can verify it is there.... dont know what the deal is though....
     
  6. DrAzzy

    DrAzzy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I'm having the same problem:

    C:\Users\User>adb shell /system/bin/cmdclient ec_micswitch '`cat /mnt/sdcard/su
    >/system/xbin/su`' (note: this linebreak is due to the width of the command window)
    The system cannot find the path specified.

    However:

    C:\Users\User>adb shell
    $ ls /mnt/sdcard
    ls /mnt/sdcard
    Alarms
    Android
    DCIM
    Download
    Movies
    Music
    Nook
    Notifications
    Pictures
    Podcasts
    Ringtones
    apkinstaller.temp
    log.txt
    su

    Anyone got any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  7. wicced247

    wicced247 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    brooklyn
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kryosmid7024
    I am not sure why it wont work for you all.... I am guessing there is a slight difference in your file structure than mine... it took me a few different methods of rooting 3.2 that I found around the internet and only this method works for me. I will post the links as I find them again and hopefully one will work for you

    Sent from Wicced's ROOTED Acer a100 16GB Honeycomb 3.2
     
  8. pmelah

    pmelah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    mississippi
    Tablet / Device:
    galaxy s facinate, acer a500
    xda tbi abd ncis oh wait thats the tv show isc all this stuff is a forien language to me i know i have an acer a500 that came with hc 3.2 os can anyone tell me if this has been rooted without going to 3.1 i also have a samsung facinate that i have rooted by the seat of my pants not knowing what im doing but i did it (all luck :) )help very much noobie
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

a100 su zip download