Recommended Tablet

Shadow12347

Oct 23, 2010
Hello I am very new to android tablets (as in today :)) and I have no idea which one to get. I am looking for a bigger one (like around 10) that has 256mb ram (or more if there are any), is expandable via SD cards etc, has a good processor, is on at least 2.1, and is compatible with the android marketplace for around $200 (but less would be better than more).

Please let me know of any suggestions,
Thanks!

gurgle

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 6, 2010
OK, Let's get the hard part out of the way. While you can find a 10 inch about $200USD. You will be buying a unit with an older version of Android and a slower processor. That is true today. But maybe not in 6 months. The reason is the sweet spot for 10in units is Closer to $300 than $200. There are many 7inch units within the $200 which are quite nice and have 2.1 or 2.2 versions of Android.
Do not be fooled by Firmware build numbers. These are any number. There are currently only four versions of Android OS available on a Tablet. 1.5, 1.6, 2.1 and 2.2 The next generation called Gingerbread (3.0) will not be out until the end of the year. Think in terms of these numbers from a cost perspective
Less than $150 = Economy or close out for 7 inch (Nothing for 10 inch) Just ereader and simple web browsing, A disappointment unless you can live with lower res video.
Between $150-$200 = Mid-Range and minimal acceptable 7 inch unit for doing things such as YouTube and some games/Economy or close out for 10 inch
Between $200-$300 = Sweet Spot for Decent 7 inch units and better units which can do HDMI,decent support and better features/Minimal acceptable price for 10 inch units but will be limited in features/
Above $300 =Better 7 inch units and capable 10 inch
Above $400 = Quality units

Think of the $100-150 comparable to a Chevrolet Aveo or the cheapest KIA you can buy