Rom development, need your help.

vampirefo.

Senior Member
Developer
Nov 8, 2011
3,836
1,394
I will be uploading the second rom at some point, it is the best rom, the first rom is nexus 7, the second rom is a custom rom build for nexus 7. Same problems no camera or sound, if we find a solution for camera and sound, we may be able to port almost all roms built for nexus 7 to our tablet.
 

stal2k

Member
Dec 13, 2012
35
11
I'd be willing to help test and try to help you figure it out. I have dabbled a bit in the android stuff but I have a lot of experience with PCs and definitely making stuff work on android, I just can't code. I'll give the I can't speak it but I understand it analogy :)

Sent from my IdeaTabA2109A using Tapatalk HD
 

doomboss

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2013
252
47
Im stuck on the start up logo right now, will update when i figure out the problem :)

Ok.. i actually need some help... so i have the dual-boot file on my SD card already, and i changed the name of the file and the code inside as well. When i finished the installation, i went to the terminal emulator and type reboot-jb_sd_gboot, and it just stuck on the start up logo.
 
Last edited:

vampirefo.

Senior Member
Developer
Nov 8, 2011
3,836
1,394
Im stuck on the start up logo right now, will update when i figure out the problem :)

if booting from tablet make sure you do a factory reset, rg wipe data and cache before installing rom, post a logcat.
 

doomboss

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2013
252
47
if booting from tablet make sure you do a factory reset, rg wipe data and cache before installing rom, post a logcat.

I ended up installing it to the SD card. The zip file that you upload should install to the SD card right?

By the way, i didn't change the permission as you mention on your post
"adb shell

su

mount -o remount,rw /system

busybox cp /sdcard2/dual_boot/reboot-ics /system/bin/reboot-ics

busybox cp /sdcard2/dual_boot/reboot-jb /system/bin/reboot-jb

chmod 755 /system/bin/reboot-jb

chmod 755 /system/bin/reboot-ics
"

Instead, i went to the system/bin with root browser and changed the permission to exactly the same as the default reboot file. Is that what is causing the problem?

Update: I installed the ROM that i had before to my tablet again, so now i can at least start up to my old ROM. I am going to try rebooting into the ROM that i installed on my SD card again :)

 
Last edited:

vampirefo.

Senior Member
Developer
Nov 8, 2011
3,836
1,394
the reboot-jb script must be changed to point to new kernel , also you have to flash ics bootloader if using oc using kernel.

rename jb_sd_gboot.img to jb_boot.img

and your stock kernel, for you tablet rename to ics_boot.img, place them on sdcard in dual_boot
 
Last edited:

vampirefo.

Senior Member
Developer
Nov 8, 2011
3,836
1,394
If you just want to boot the kernel that came with the scripts, don't change anything just run the script as it is, it should flash and run stock kernel.

anyway when you start to boot

adb shell

logcat > /sdcard/logcat.text

then post the logcat.text
 

vampirefo.

Senior Member
Developer
Nov 8, 2011
3,836
1,394
lets make sure you have sdcard setup correctly.

boot into recovery

adb shell

mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /system

mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p3 /data

ls /system/

ls /data/

mount

busybox df -h

below is output of commands from my setup.

Code:
vampirefo@vampirefo-GA-MA78GM-US2H:~/Desktop$ adb shell
~ # mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /system
~ # mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p3 /data
~ # ls /system/
app         build.prop  fonts       lib         media       usr         xbin
bin         etc         framework   lost+found  tts         vendor
~ # ls /data/
anr             dalvik-cache    local           property        user
app             data            lost+found      resource-cache
app-asec        dontpanic       media           ssh
app-private     drm             misc            system
backup          gps             nvcam           tf
~ # mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
tmpfs on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,mode=755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,mode=600)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/CAC on /cache type ext4 (rw,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered)
/dev/block/mmcblk1p2 on /system type ext4 (rw,relatime,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered)
/dev/block/mmcblk1p3 on /data type ext4 (rw,relatime,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered)
~ # busybox df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs                   485.7M     48.0K    485.7M   0% /dev
/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/CAC
                        755.9M     12.8M    743.2M   2% /cache
/dev/block/mmcblk1p2    990.2M    533.6M    456.6M  54% /system
/dev/block/mmcblk1p3      3.6G    223.3M      3.3G   6% /data
~ #
 

doomboss

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2013
252
47
the reboot-jb script must be changed to point to new kernel , also you have to flash ics bootloader if using oc using kernel.

rename jb_sd_gboot.img to jb_boot.img

and your stock kernel, for you tablet rename to ics_boot.img, place them on sdcard in dual_boot

Ahh, my assumption is that i forgot to get the boot.img from my original ROM and put it on the dual_boot folder. I will keep messing with it :D
 

doomboss

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2013
252
47
lets make sure you have sdcard setup correctly.

boot into recovery

adb shell

mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /system

mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p3 /data

ls /system/

ls /data/

mount

busybox df -h

below is output of commands from my setup.

Code:
vampirefo@vampirefo-GA-MA78GM-US2H:~/Desktop$ adb shell
~ # mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p2 /system
~ # mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk1p3 /data
~ # ls /system/
app         build.prop  fonts       lib         media       usr         xbin
bin         etc         framework   lost+found  tts         vendor
~ # ls /data/
anr             dalvik-cache    local           property        user
app             data            lost+found      resource-cache
app-asec        dontpanic       media           ssh
app-private     drm             misc            system
backup          gps             nvcam           tf
~ # mount
rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
tmpfs on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,mode=755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,mode=600)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/CAC on /cache type ext4 (rw,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered)
/dev/block/mmcblk1p2 on /system type ext4 (rw,relatime,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered)
/dev/block/mmcblk1p3 on /data type ext4 (rw,relatime,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered)
~ # busybox df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs                   485.7M     48.0K    485.7M   0% /dev
/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/CAC
                        755.9M     12.8M    743.2M   2% /cache
/dev/block/mmcblk1p2    990.2M    533.6M    456.6M  54% /system
/dev/block/mmcblk1p3      3.6G    223.3M      3.3G   6% /data
~ #

I think my data partition has some problem too
$ls data.jpg
as you can see, i only have the lost+found folder.

Here is the rest of the code:
$busybox.jpg
 

doomboss

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2013
252
47
I don't understand your output, is this done from cw recovery?

your output shows you are mounted to system and data twice which is not possible from cw recovery.

Ohh my bad, but when i boot into recovery, my computer can't read my tablet for some reason

How to use the adb shell in cm recovery? My computer doesn't seem to read it at all, so i cant type the code.

Never mind i got it!!!:D Sorry im such a noob
 
Last edited:

vampirefo.

Senior Member
Developer
Nov 8, 2011
3,836
1,394
you are showing that you are mounted on system and data twice, is this jb cw recovery? I have never seen this, basically this is bind.
 
Top