[TIP] Fix your MAC address across firmware installs

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 2 Development' started by lfom, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    It was tested with my CFW (GingerLF) but it should work with any CFW for Kyros 7024/8024/1024, like steev's AllDro2 CFW.

    1. On your tablet, copy the file /system/wifi/softmac to /sdcard (internal microSD user space) or /extsd (external microSD) using a file manager or adb.
    2. Rename it to mac.txt
    3. Place mac.txt on the same microSD you use to install the new firmware in the root directory ("/"), the same place where you may see u-boot.bin or utscript

    If you have adb, you can do use this command to get mac.txt file on your computer:
    Code:
    adb pull /system/wifi/softmac mac.txt
    This will preserve your MAC address of your WiFi interface when installing a new firmware.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
    • Like Like x 4
  2. williamsrule

    williamsrule Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    349 parkersburg trnpk staunton Va. 24402
    Tablet / Device:
    craig
    hey maybe you can help me short story is that i put my android tablet down after getting some games on there from he market(slide/sam4.0) and now it tells me android.process.acore has stopped unexpectedly and when i try to force close it, it keeps popping up and ive tried turning it off and that doesnt work and it doesnt have a re-set button
     
  3. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    It's not the subject of this thread. Try a factory reset or "internal SD unit", look for more info in the appropriate thread or forum related to your tablet brand and model.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  4. Pickupman66

    Pickupman66 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Captivate (Rooted) Coby Kyros 1024
    what type of tablet do you have? the Kyros all have a reset but you can hold the power button down for 20 seconds and it will shut off.
     
  5. Vernox701

    Vernox701 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Nevada
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby mid8024,Coby mid1024
    Launcher is corrupted or missing
     
  6. Spook_Man

    Spook_Man Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    180
    Location:
    NE Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7024
    Lfom, thank you for this tip. Updated to Alldro2 v.1.2 and MAC setup as before. Thanks..

    Sent from my GT-P1000 using Android Tablet Forum
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
a 240 wi-fi mac address unavailabile
,
android mac address unavailable
,
android mac address unavailable solution
,
android wifi mac address unavailable
,
fix wifi mac address unavailable
,
how to fix mac address on the phone
,
how to fix mac address unavailable issue
,
how to fix mac addresses showing unavailable in android
,
how to fix wifi mac address unavailable
,
mac address android unavailable
,
mac address unavailable
,
mac address unavailable android fix
,
mac address unavailable android tablet
,
nexus 5 mac address unavailable
,
unavailable mac address android
,

wifi mac address android unavailable

,
wifi mac address unavailable
,
wifi mac address unavailable android
,

wifi mac address unavailable android fix

,
wifi mac address unavailable fix