Can't flash clockworkmod recovery or boot into recovery

May 3, 2011
Hi all,

I recently purchased a B&N Nook Color. Bear with me, because this is my first attempt at doing anything with custom ROMs for Android. For my first attempt I installed CyanogenMod7 following the steps here: Install CyanogenMod 7 Android 2.3 Gingerbread ROM on Nook Color

All seemed well, as I was able to boot into Android and it seems to work just fine. I figured the next step was to run the ROM Manager and flash CWM on the internal memory, then download other things from there. I have to insert the SD card (since if I keep it in at boot I boot right into CMW from the card) and connect to wifi. If I click anything but "Flash ClockworkMod Recovery" I get told that I have to do that first. However, when I click that option nothing happens. The title bar flickers for a split second and that's it. Nothing.

To further add to the mystery, I've tried a myriad of ways to manually flash CMW and they don't seem to affect anything.* Perhaps somewhat expectedly I am not able to boot into recovery mode without the SD card, ever. Holding power and rebooting into recovery or selecting the option from ROM Manager both just cause the device to reboot as normal. Somewhat ironically this seems to be the opposite problem of most people on the Nook, as they can't get out of recovery.

I've repeated the install steps several times and it hasn't changed anything. I'm looking for some additional things to try. ROM Manager is version 4.2. I'm not sure of the version of CWM but I got it from here: Index of /nookdev/clockwork/0.1-ext4

* [GUIDE] Install Clockwork Recovery 3 so you can flash CM7 - EASY - 3 METHODS - xda-developers
[ZIP][RECOVERY] EMMC Recovery Repair - xda-developers

darmeen

Jan 8, 2011
When you Flash ClockworkMod Recovery, what is the install version it is giving you in ROM Manager?