Clockworkmod for MID9742

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 3 Development' started by Traveller1701, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I noticed that there are recovery images for the 7042 and 8042 containing CWM. Is there a hardware or software reason why the 9742 doesn't have a CWM recovery?
  2. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    The reason there is no cwm for 9742 is cause I don't own a 9742.
    Traveller1701 likes this.
  3. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I guess for the time being I go without, because I won't have time until the week after next to even contemplate trying to build a custom recovery. However, you can answer one question for me: what version of Clockworkmod did you use in the other two units?
  4. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    RECOVERY_VERSION := $(RECOVERY_NAME) v5.5.0.4
    Traveller1701 likes this.
  5. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    I looked over your dump, my guess you could use the same recovery I am using in 8042.
    Traveller1701 likes this.
  6. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I will give that a try and let you know how it works out. I appreciate your help.
  7. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    I have uploaded a version for you to test includes stock recovery if cwm doesn't work you can flash back to stock recovery.

    9742_root_recovery.zip

    adb push data /data/local/tmp/

    adb shell

    chmod 0777 /data/local/tmp/mempodroid

    chmod 0777 /data/local/tmp/install-cwm-recovery.sh

    # Note If cwn don't work you can reinstall stock recovery using below command
    # chmod 0777 /data/local/tmp/install-stock-recovery.sh

    /data/local/tmp/mempodroid 0xd7cc 0xad27 sh /data/local/tmp/root.sh

    su

    /data/local/tmp/install-cwm-recovery.sh

    # Note If cwn don't work you can reinstall stock recovery using below command
    # /data/local/tmp/install-stock-recovery.sh

    reboot-recovery
  8. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I personally don't have to run the root commands as my root is permanent. I understand however that others aren't that fortunate. However, for clarity's sake, this is all done through the ADB?

    EDIT: I answered my own question about ADB. Silly me. :)

    The reboot-recovery command for some reason didn't work. However, I was able to get into clockworkmod using the two-finger salute. The one thing I did notice is that the clockworkmod screen is upside down compared to the stock recovery. My Dell Streak, when I tried running clockworkmod on it would rotate the screen 270 degrees from normal. So, Coby likely put the screen in upside down and used software to rotate it.

    However, other than that issue, CWM is working fine on the 9742. In fact, it just finished generating a nandroid backup. So now I can really do work on this device to make it better.
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2012
    vampirefo. and Patchirl like this.
  9. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Good glad cwm works, I thought it would just going off of your dump. If the screen is installed upside down then yes CWM will be upside down, will still work as it should, Anyway thanks for testing and confirming it works.
  10. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    No problem. Having CWM makes it so much easier to get the Google apps on the tablet.
  11. druxx
    Offline

    druxx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Hi there,

    thanks a lot, got CWM installed on my 9742. Same problem here, screen is upside down, but booting into recovery mode from adb worked.
    My device is rooted now, backups are made, but stupid question of a newbie: how does CWM help me to get Google apps running?
    lampiao likes this.
  12. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  13. druxx
    Offline

    druxx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hamburg
    thanks, traveller1701, worked fine. But after having installed a dozen apps from google apps I ran into the next problem. This gets a little bit off-topic here, but maybe you have already solved this problem:
    I'm not able to install google maps or chrome beta since the mid9742 is not in google's list of supported devices. According to the hints I've found on the web one only has to change
    ro.product.model
    ro.product.manufacturer
    in /system/build.prop
    I've done so, setting manufacturer to samsung and model to GT-P7500. I've cleared data and cache of Google Play Store and rebooted but I could convince the google play to re-read build.prop, I'm still getting the old device info when trying to download chrome beta.

    Any idea what else has to be cleared or what to do to go to another device id?
  14. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Setting the things you did changes nothing. The fingerprint has to be changed. I set my fingerprint in build.prop to a Dell Streak 7 and have had no issues with maps. Google Earth is a different story, likely because of the lack of GPS chip, GPU, or both. I can't comment on Chrome as I use Opera Mobile.

    ro.build.fingerprint=dell/dell_streak/streak:4.0.4/IMM76/eng.den.20120603.153428:eng/test-keys

    EDIT: I spoke way too soon. My edit of build.prop didn't work. Yours should, if the video I just watched on YouTube (see below) was any indication. I personally will get the model number of the galaxy tab 7 or 10.1 and edit mine to see if that works.

    [video=youtube;cssyIE4maZY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cssyIE4maZY[/video]
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012
  15. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    On the Play Store Maps complains that it's not compatible with the 9742, but that is because the Coby tablets are not Google authorized devices. The only effective solution I've found is to keep your changes in build.prop and use a modded verison of the Play Store app to remove the restrictions.

    Check out this thread: Modded Google Play Store at XDA-Developers. Download the file labeled "Vending.3.5.19.noupdate.norestrictions.nosig-aligned.apk".
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2012
  16. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    your build.prop don't stick cause in /system/bin there is a file that reverts it back to stock, file is called preinstall.sh

    you can do several things, delete it or edited it.

    edit this line

    $BUSYBOX cp /mnt/nanda/vendor/system/build.prop /system/

    add # in front of it and save.

    should now look like this

    # $BUSYBOX cp /mnt/nanda/vendor/system/build.prop /system/
    Traveller1701 likes this.
  17. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Bastards. :)

    I honestly didn't know about that. The Dell Streak does something similar with a file Dell named "install-recovery.sh". In the case of install-recovery.sh, it overwrote the existing recovery with the stock one on every boot. Fortunately it didn't affect root. In this case, they have the build.prop stored within a hidden partition in the memory and this file sends it back.

    Good thing I did a nandroid backup. I'll have to update that backup, and a couple others.
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2012
  18. jcruckus
    Offline

    jcruckus Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    McAllen, TX
    Many thanks Traveller1701 and Vampirefo for the recovery and .zip file to get this done, along with the batch file with adb included to make root and recovery soo easy! Only way it would have been any easier is if you had included with Windows adb driver folders to install the "android" device for adb.
    Vampirefo, i've appreciated your work since the sdx-developer days with the samsung moment, and I'm extatic to hear that you are developing for the Coby Kyros!

    Has anyone heard anything about the roms from Tipstir over at www.kyros-tablet-zone.teamtalk.net?
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2012
  19. vampirefo.
    Offline

    vampirefo. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...9-has-anyone-used-pre-built-roms-bulldog.html
  20. Traveller1701
    Offline

    Traveller1701 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    As a followup to my earlier replies to this thread, I got the build.prop straightened out. At the same time I added a few "fixes" to the build.prop to improve a few things: battery life, Internet, and streaming video. And apparently, just as my 9742 does not have the line in init.sun4i.rc to block superuser, it also apparently doesn't keep a copy of the default build.prop in the boot image. My customized build.prop sticks around following boots, which is a good thing.

    Fixing the build.prop though didn't solve the other issue of having certain apps (e.g. Facebook, Maps) register as incompatible with the 9742. However, I found this thread which explained how to fix that problem. I followed the instructions in that thread and all is good.

    I've attached an updated version of the zip.


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Regarding the batch file, I used what was available. That batch file assumes a working knowledge of ADB, including installing the correct driver (out of three choices) after connecting the Kyros to the PC. Adding a routine just to install the device and driver is rather pointless, especially as you only have to do it once. I made things convenient since the commands no longer have to be typed out. It's not a substitute for knowing what in the heck you're doing.

    EDIT: Updated zip file, removed mention of problems with updater script.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012

Share This Page