Update failed!! help

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by HD87, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    do I need to unroot my tab? update failed..
     
  2. Lost4ever

    Lost4ever Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I have same problem what can I do pls help me the a500 drive me to crazy


    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  3. rcmolski

    rcmolski Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I restored WPA_Supplicant and the update worked first time. I had failed X4 before restoring the file.

    Good Luck,

    Bob

    PS - restored root using IconiaRoot 1.2 from XDA. Here's a link...

    [HOWTO] Root for stock HC3.1 - xda-developers
     
  4. FarmerTed

    FarmerTed Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia A500
    Right, so you don't have to unroot, but you do need to restore the wpa_supplicant file as well as the phone and telephony apks if you deleted them before the update will work.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  5. spexwood

    spexwood Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab & Sony Ericsson Xperia X10a
    Wondering the same thing. My error log is saying something is wrong with my wpa_supplicant file (even though I never changed it from what I can remember). How do we reset this file?
     
  6. rcmolski

    rcmolski Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Here's the WPA_Supplicant from my A500, after the 3.1 update. Hope this works for you guys.

    I'm not sure what the extension is for the A500, but I had to add .zip to be able to upload it. Try removing the .zip before using it. Also, remove the 'original'. I added that to keep it straight on my tablet.

    Good Luck.

    Bob
     

    Attached Files:

  7. spexwood

    spexwood Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab & Sony Ericsson Xperia X10a
    Thank you so much, that file helped and solved my problem. Im now running 3.1.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  8. robalbrecht

    robalbrecht Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Aurora, Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia A500
    I failed many times today to update. I finally pulled the sd card and did a factory reset. It worked like a charm. Good luck.
     
  9. roastedbagel

    roastedbagel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Is it possible to explain how exactly to use the wpa_supplicant file? I get an error upon trying to open it. I renamed it by removing the "original" and .zip from the file name, but it still errors out. Is there a certain directory I just need to drop it into? Or do I need to "run" it per se? Any help is greatly appreciated and I appreciate your patience with me. Thanks!
     
  10. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    this was only if you altered the file in the 1st place.. if you didnt then this doesnt affect you.. im testing Acer Recovery Installer, app from the market, to reinstall a fresh copy of 3.0 and hopefully that'll help!
     
  11. spexwood

    spexwood Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab & Sony Ericsson Xperia X10a
    Sorry to go against you here, but really you should try it if your error log is mentioning something about the wpa_supplicant file. In my case, I dont ever recall screwing around with the file, but I may have or may not have. Either way, replacing the file with one not messed up will fix the issue IF and ONLY IF your error log is saying that that file is incorrect.

    So, people need to do this:
    1) Root your tablet if not done already (You cant view the error log without being rooted... which is odd since I would think that people should have access to this)
    2) Download and install something like Root Explorer (Im not sure of the alternatives) from the Market
    3) Use the program to go to /cache/recovery and long hold on the file last_log to open the popup menu; press "Open in Text Editor"
    4) Scroll to the bottom of the file and it will mention errors. If it reads something like...:
    Installing update...
    mount: failed to mount /dev/block/mmcblk0p4 at /cache: Device or resource busy
    Verifying current system...
    file "/system/bin/wpa_supplicant" doesn't have any of expected sha1 sums; checking cache
    failed to stat "/cache/saved.file": No such file or directory
    failed to load cache file
    script aborted: assert failed: apply_patch_check("/system/bin/wpa_supplicant", "030ca98818df391b7ec65ed7905789c57b7b0451", "b7ed8151154603f458fba3e10dfcb63b0d7be72d")
    assert failed: apply_patch_check("/system/bin/wpa_supplicant", "030ca98818df391b7ec65ed7905789c57b7b0451", "b7ed8151154603f458fba3e10dfcb63b0d7be72d")
    E:Error in /cache/acer_ug/update.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation aborted.
    I:timed out waiting for key input; rebooting.

    ...
    then definitely try this method of fixing.


    1) Download the file to your PC or tablet
    2) rename the file by deleting the "original" part and also the extension (.zip). In the end, the file should JUST be "wpa_supplicant" with no extensions, etc.
    3) With the tablet rooted, copy the file to /system/bin
    4) Replace any original files
    5) Retry update and hopefully get success

    Try the file attached. It is the same as rcmolski's file, but without the "original" part. BE SURE TO DO AS EXPLAINED ABOVE.
     
  12. andy8992

    andy8992 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Ive replaced the file and now i cant use wifi. It just says error.
     
  13. Half Colin

    Half Colin Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    After you've put the file back in the bin folder you need to change the permissions to Owner RWX, Group RX and Others RX.
     
  14. andy8992

    andy8992 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I'm not quite sure how to do that ha. I'm using droid explorer in windows to manage my files because root explorer crashes every time i open it.
     
  15. andy8992

    andy8992 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I figured it out. Thanks for your help. I didnt have busybox installed. Still failed though.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

android tablet fails to update

,

android tablet update failed

,

android update fail log file

,

android update failed

,

download failed android

,

lenovo tablet faild to update not such file

,

update failed android

,

wpa failed tablet