[CFW] GingerLF - Custom GingerBread Android 2.3 for MID1024

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 2 Development' started by lfom, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. steev

    steev Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7024
    Good news.

    tlbardelljr from Team Flashback has stated that he's working on a Honeycomb 3.0 port to the Herotab C8. If he does that it should be really easy to port to our MIDx024 tabs.

    Firmware Multi-booting - SlateDroid.com
     
  2. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    Cool. I am trying to implement swap and fix the problem with apps2SD breaking when dismounting a disk (SD or thumb drive). It's driving me crazy...

    Also, I saw that prox32 updated the graphics libraries in his Gingerbread build... Did you try it? Is it full 2.3.3 or still 2.3?
     
  3. steev

    steev Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7024
  4. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    Yeah, I saw that too, but it hasn't been updated in 5mo or more... :(

    I am very happy with my actual CFW build, just looking for a way to play certain high end games without freezes (when it happens, a reset is needed). It's something related to the graphics driver or free RAM.
     
  5. fmnelson

    fmnelson Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Dallas
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID1024
    lfom-
    Found a small issue that you may be able to help me with. The 1.1 version allowed my 1024 to access and watch Hulu Plus. I noticed that 1.2 would not and thought it might have been something I did. However. 1.3 is getting the Hulu Plus app's "Your device is not compatible" message when I open the app. I completed no cusomizations. I installed 1.3 straight from the Zip file.

    Maybe you have an answer or suggestion.

    Thanks
    fmnelson
     
  6. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    In the /system folder, copy build.prop.vanilla to build.prop (you may want to backup it first if you modified the file in the past), clear app's data in settings then reboot and try to use it again. V1.1 had MID1024 fingerprint with no optimization while later versions use GT-P1000 fingerprint and optimization. If it fails, or before modifying build.prop, try using LCD resolution app to change LCD density to 200 or 240.
     
  7. diotto

    diotto Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Thanks! I used another microsd card and it worked.
    The 1.3 version is VERY NICE!!!!!!! Congrats!
     
  8. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    @fmnelson - did it fixed hulu for you?

    @diotto - thanks. ;)
     
  9. adiehl777

    adiehl777 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 1024
    Thank you so much for the hard word on the rom. Its beautiful. My accellerometer is kind of wonky with games (speedx 3d for example). Is this something that is known or can be fixed? Thanks!!
     
  10. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    Don't know what you call "wonky", but it works fine here. Some games let you select the sensibility. Beside that I don't know anything else that can be done...
     
  11. sunset0202

    sunset0202 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    Koby Kyros 7024
    @lfom
    Guess it's not the right topic, but maybe you can point me the way if so.
    After some happy time with my 7024, game over: my 7-year-old son dropped it, and now I rest with a handful of shattered glass... So, I thought it was time to try the big capacitive screen. I won't go for the big buck ones, the Acers or Samsungs... Of course my immediate option was the 1024.

    Buuut... I see here and there (here mostly) issues about board version which won't accept CFWs, discussions wether it's dual touch or multitouch...

    Since you're the 1024 master (as steev rulez the 7024), what's the truth in all this? Are the "bad" boards the older ones? Are there dual and multitouch 1024's, being the "bad" version dualtouch and the good one multi? Is it a shot in the dark, in the end?

    Can´t imagine buying a Kyros that I can't play with CFWs. As for the newer Coby models, none of them are available in my country, just 1024, 7024, 7022...

    I'd really appreciate your input!
     
  12. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    I can't tell you when or where you get the models with 1025_v4 board, but it seems that these are old models that are sold mostly outside USA. If you purchase your Kyros in one of the big retailers, most probably it will be a 1024n. Also, testing if it's dual or multi-touch doesn't prove much, but if it recognizes more than 2 touches then the chances it is a 1024n is bigger. So far I have seen 3 models of Kyros MID1024, the only way to make sure it's a 1024n is doing the test explained hereL
    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...1024-owners-read-before-flashing-any-rom.html
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. sunset0202

    sunset0202 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    Koby Kyros 7024
    @lfom
    Well, I guess we are from the same country, so, since there are no 'big retailers' around here, you know my possible ways for getting my tablet. Think I´ll cross my fingers and hope for a good outcome. Thanks, lfom!
     
  14. fmnelson

    fmnelson Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Dallas
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID1024
    Still working on the hulu problem. Found another issue. In 1.2 and 1.3, i'm not able to connect to android market or the amazon market after about two days.

    Sent from my GT-P1000 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  15. lfom

    lfom Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    240
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Brasil
    I don't think it's related to the CFW, at least not in the case of Android Market. Never had a problem here.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
coby kyros mid 1024n os download
,
coby kyros mid1024 gingerbread
,
cwf android clo
,
how to flash dead coby kyros mid 1024n
,
kyros 1024 firmware
,
mid1024 always portrait
,
mid1024 netflix
,

mpman mid1024 update

,
sec smdkv210 android update
,
smdkv210 cyanogenmod